Driving, Swimming and Portuguesing.

“I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered” ~George Best

A classic Brit he was indeed, I wish I could say the same for myself. Alas, I haven’t been living it up quite like good old George, but maybe it’s been for the Best. In the first quarter of 2013, a vast proportion of the Fabian Millions have been spent on aquiring a German Führerschein, or  “the Hitler-shine” as I fondly refer to it; due to its demanding nature.

At first they tried to make me drive on the right, but I didn’t deem it proper at the time. I drove the English way, into oncoming traffic. We may rules the high seas, but when it comes to tarmac we aren’t so dominant. Must remember to look for the blue arrows in future.

The Germans. They’ve got some sensible rules, and some silly rules. They really do insist on having some ridiculous rules, like for example did you know that even if you are on the main road, unless there is a Vorfahrtschild (see below) then any traffic coming from the right, be it at a junction/ a crossroads/ a built up area/ even if obscured from vision, they have right of way over you. In other words, you have to drive slower as you approach these right hand lanes to make sure you can brake in time to give way. In a word: madness.

.gif (3814 Byte)

Vorfahrtt (right of way)

Vorfahrt (Right of way at a specific junction)

Anyway, having almost mastered the skills of driving in the city, I am beginning the final phase of the driving course this week. Over the next few weeks I will be rigourously trained in the martial art that is: the Autobahn. As well as this I will be travelling over land on the Landstraße (Country Roads) and a Nachfahrt (nighttime drive) also needs to be completed. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t massively looking forward to the Autobahn. No speed limit = what’s not to like. But I’m glad I took advice from parents etc and learnt gradually, otherwise heads may well have rolled.

“Speed never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary, that’s what gets you.”
~Jeremy Clarkson

Saunas are Sticky & Sweaty

Probably the most exciting thing that happened to me in February was suffering a sort of sexual abuse, don’t worry though, I took it well. One Saturday I decided to go to the sauna in the Olymische Schwimmhalle, which it turns out, was a mistake. After a couple of hours of damp room, hot room, cold water I was successfully relaxed. I went to relax in the sauna room and strecthed out on the top layer. Around five minutes later I realised that the chap who had been staring at the temperature was actually staring at Little Marcus. Probably well into his forties, this creep of a man decided it would be a great idea to play with his genitals whilst using my bits and bobs as a sort of “Free Adult Channel” as I lay in the sauna. What can I say, I must have been a bit of a catch compared to the other sauna goers. That said, with the clientele pushing an average age of 75 it was pretty slim competition. The man then started to whisper incomprehensibly to my member in German and proceeded to engage with it from afar like some sinister stark-naked snake charmer. Unfortunately my Nether-Region doesn’t speak great German. Maybe it speaks better Dutch?

© Manuel Irritier

I wasn’t sure whether or not to hit him or to be flattered. In the end, the shock got the better of me and I sort of got up and left the room in a bit of a huff, the old chap crossing his legs trying to hide the evidence whilst looking up at me like a lost puppy. I think I just felt sorry for him in the end. Reduced to masturbating over someone you’ve never met in a public sauna? If that’s what he does on the weekends, I though to myself, then what the hell does he do during the week? Perhaps he just got swept up in the moment. Still, he took the concept of #yolao* a bit too far. Although points for enthusiasm are in order, credit where credit’s glued. I really hope that’s the last time I’m masturbated over by an old German man. I feel like it’s one of those things that, once it’s happened, you sort of know either way whether it was fun or not. That’ll be my first and last trip to the sauna in the Olympic Park, thank you very much.

He may be Far-Eastern but he’s a Southerner at heart

Other highlights of February included Far-Eastern coming in absolutely battered with mates Joe and Tchi Bing. Joe maintains that people from North China are supposed to be the heavier drinkers (similar to the alleged divide in England), whilst poor old Mandarin Felix is about as lily-livered as you can get. But as we know all too well, the Chinese, regardless of what they say, do often struggle with their drink. When you say battered in China, you’re usually refering to some tasty deep-fried treat, rather than an alcoholic beverage. It’s not their fault, they are missing this “battered enzyme” which we Westerners are lucky enough to have. Scientists might have given the enzyme a more technical name by the way, but I thought I’d make it nice and simple for my readers which includes a variety of educations and ages. How considerate.

Learning to drive. I can now drive. It’s pretty easy to be honest, not really sure what the whole fuss was about. Mastered manual, I just need to take the theory which I should pass first time and then I can do the practical test afterwards.

A visit to Prince Charming in Prague is definitely in order at some stage.

Until then I am looking forward to next week when it all kicks off again. Sam is coming down from Hamburg with tickets for us to watch Champion’s League Second Leg, Arsenal vs Bayern Munich @ the Allianz Arena. It’s going to be interesting. Hopefully the lively Arsenal fans will give the boring Bavarians something to think about. Of course we have Barney’s Birthday Bonanza in Berlin to look forward to in a fortnight’s time. To say I am hugely looking forward to it would be an understatement.

For those interested, there is a pretty cool site  called Viveras going live on Thursday. It is a great new tool whereby people on their Year Abroad can review and rate places and events that they have experienced, so that future generations will be able to make the most of their experience. This is basically the sort of idea that I wish I had come up with. I have been made an official contributor (whatever that means I’m not entirely sure). The idea is good though and as long as my review of the Hofbräuhaus makes it up there, I’ll be happy. I would definitely recommend checking it out to other fellow Year Abroaders, regardless of where you are. Though probably best ot leave Munich to myself and Nath. We’ve got it covered.

In other news, Adam has survived another Nut-Attack and of course the story will be rolled out in blog form at some stage so watch this space. Also I’m learning Portuguese which is cool. And could be useful if I ever go to the following places.

And that’s your lot. Time to get back to marketing premium automobiles. Greece, Spain and Italy aren’t exactly going to bale themselves out, are they.

*#yolao = You only live abroad once.

One thought on “Driving, Swimming and Portuguesing.

  1. great to see a post at last! I’d just like to inform you that George Best was actually Northern Irish 😉 a quick change to ‘british’ and nobody will ever know!

Leave a Reply

