Settling in.

Monday the 27th of August 2012

I woke up today at around 8:00am and set off to do a quick Lidl shop (got my Mulitvitamingetränk in) and get a haircut. The area I walked around was around Goethestraße, Schwanthalerstraße and Landwehrstraße. I found this area of town fascinating with its large Turkish and Middle-Eastern presence. Turkish airlines, İşbank GmbH, and Arab/Afghani grocery stores. It made me feel right at home. I was able to get an Old Jamaican Ginger Beer and some خبز (Fladenbrot). After this I decided that I would go to Max-Diamand-Straße to do an errand. I then set up a bank account near where my new apartment will be. I have to say I do feel like I have settled in already. The main thing is remembering not to J-walk. Waiting for the green man is a bit of a fetish in Germany but you can’t really argue with it when you see how fast they drive over here. It’s been a good day.

Currently awaiting the arrival of Nath – what he doesn’t know is that we are going to the Hofbräuhaus this evening!

Leave a Reply

